Candy Buttons

I am very disappointed to discover that Necco Candy Buttons are made with gelatin, and are therefore not vegetarian. While hunting for this image, I also found out that Necco is the exclusive manufacturer of candy buttons (in the U.S.), so there is no animal-free alternative. Additionally, I was shocked to read that the buttons are supposed to represent three flavors: cherry, lime, and lemon. Did any of you ever taste flavor in these things? I only get “sugar” and occasionally “paper” from them.

And another thing: Why is the mascot for Necco (New England Confectionary Co.) a kid in a ten-gallon hat? I’m just wondering.

Advertisements

3 Comments

Filed under food

3 responses to “Candy Buttons

  1. Mandelion17

    I’m thinking the ten gallon hat is the Old Fashioned part. . .

  2. I never went for the buttons. I prefer the wafers (but not the licorice flavor).

  3. I’m recalling mostly the “paper” flavor…

    Gelatin is sneaky stuff, it seems to get used in some of the most unlikely places.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s